Planning and Zoning Commission


The Commission consists of seven members who serve six-year terms (Hilliard City Charter 9.01).  Six of the members are citizens and one seat is for the Mayor or the Mayor's designee.  The Commission advises City Council on land use, planning issues, and proposed Zoning Code amendments, and reviews zoning and conditional use requests, plats and development plans.  The Commission also reviews requests for sign variances.

Planning staff is available to assist applicants during every phase of the application process.  Applicants are strongly encouraged to schedule a pre-submittal meeting during which the applicant can learn about the process.  A pre-submittal meeting also affords the applicant and planning staff the opportunity to address any initial concerns with the application.

For information regarding meeting agendas or if special accommodations are needed, please contact Tromy Batiste Jr., Planning Technician at (614) 334-2548 or

For more information or to schedule a meeting, please contact          John Talentino, AICP, City Planner at (614) 334-2444 or

Meeting Times


The Planning and Zoning Commission meets the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Hilliard Municipal Building, 3800 Municipal Way, unless otherwise advertised.


The Planning and Zoning Commission reviews the following applications: 

  • Planned Unit Development Concept Plan*
  • Planned Unit Development Preliminary Development Plan*
  • Planned Unit Development Final Development Plan
  • Planned Unit Development Modification*
  • Old Hilliard District Plan
  • Level "B" Site Plan
  • Rezoning*
  • Limited Overlay* 
  • Conditional Use
  • Preliminary Plat
  • Final Plat*
  • Lot Split/Deed Transfer
  • Sign Variances

*Requires City Council approval after Planning and Zoning action.


  • Scott Movshin, Chairman
  • Jay Muether, Vice-Chairman
  • Don Schonhardt, Mayor
  • Chris Lewie
  • Tracey Nixon
  • Brett Bergefurd
  • Bill Uttley